Skip to Content

What Are the Penalties for Underage Drinking?


If you drink and drive in Texas, you face harsh penalties. However, if you drink and drive and you are under 21, the law is even harsher. Not only are you driving under the influence but also you have consumed alcohol while being under the legal age to do so.

The first offense, according to Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission, will earn you a driver’s license suspension of 60 days and a fine up to $500. You must also do 20 to 40 hours of community service and attend a mandatory alcohol awareness class.

A second offense also has a fine of up to $500 and you have to attend a mandatory alcohol awareness class. You have your license suspended for 120 days and must do 40 to 60 hours of community service.

At the third offense, you face more serious penalties. You get a suspension of your driver’s license for 180 days. Your fine ranges from $250 to $2,000. Plus, you face up to 180 days in jail.

Also, keep in mind that there is a zero-tolerance law for minors. It does not matter if you are not over the legal limit. If you get pulled over for driving under the influence, any amount of alcohol in your bloodstream is illegal.

Keep in mind that underage drinking offenses do not just involve drinking and driving. You may face these penalties for simply having an alcoholic beverage in your possession or for trying to buy alcohol. You do not have to be doing anything else illegal to end up with charges and face the penalties outlined here. This information is for education and is not legal advice.