No one goes out on a night with friends with the intention of driving home intoxicated. However, this is a common occurrence among even well-meaning drivers, who could end up facing serious penalties as a result of one indiscretion.
Understanding the punishments associated with DWI in Texas is crucial, in this case. The Texas Department of Transportation explains these punishments, so you can ensure you understand the full extent of the charges facing you.
Regardless of the circumstances, drivers convicted of a first DWI offense will serve three days in jail. However, you may receive up to 180 days in jail depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest. Your driver’s license can also be suspended for up to one year.
A maximum $4,000 fine can be applied upon receiving a second offense. Jail terms range from one month up to one year. When it comes to license suspension, the maximum period is two years.
If you are convicted of a third DWI offense, prison terms range from two to ten years. Your driving privileges could be suspended for up to two years. You will also face a fine of no more than $10,000.
There are additional penalties applied if you are driving with a child under the age of 15 at the time of your arrest. In this case, you may be subject to an additional fine of up to $10,000, a jail term of up to two years, and an additional 180-day suspension of your driving privileges.
Not all DWI cases are cut and dried. If you have questions about the legitimacy of your arrest, or believe law enforcement acted in a way that was inappropriate, professional legal counsel can evaluate your case.