When you receive a charge for driving while intoxicated in Texas, you may have concerns about the toll it may take if that charge ends up leading to a conviction. While a DWI may lead to personal and professional struggles, it may also cause your bank account to take a serious hit once you factor in the myriad expenses associated with the offense.
Per BACtrack, how much a DWI costs you may depend on whether anyone suffered injuries at the time of your arrest and whether you already have a DWI in your history.
UNDERSTANDING DWI-RELATED EXPENSES
After a first DWI, you may have to pay hundreds or even thousands of dollars in fines. Then, you need to factor in expenses relating to your arrest, such as bail, jail, towing or impound fees. Once you regain the right to drive again, you should expect to have to pay to get your license back.
Depending on circumstances and your blood alcohol concentration at the time of your arrest, you may also have to pay to install and maintain an ignition interlock device on your car. Your insurance rates are also going to increase after a drunk driving conviction.
UNDERSTANDING THE FINANCIAL TOLL OF A DWI
There is no one-size-fits-all answer to how much a Texas DWI is going to cost you. However, the average Texas motorist winds up paying between about $9,000 and $24,000 in total following a first-time drunk driving arrest.
The expenses outlined above are those you may face as an adult with a DWI conviction. A drunk driving conviction may cost you even more if you are a teenager at the time of your arrest.