Skip to Content

It’s Time in Texas for Spring Break and DWI Enforcement


With a number of colleges near Comanche County, it might not be news to many of our regular readers that spring break is here. It’s a time for college students across the nation to take a break from studies and have fun.

It’s also a time when many Texas law enforcement agencies ramp up drunk driving enforcement. The goal is always to deter people from driving while impaired by making as many drunk driving arrests as possible.

Many students will be headed home from college to rest up for a few days, while others are ready to roll down Texas highways to places offering nightlife, music, good times and attractive members of the opposite sex. Law enforcement officials across the state are making it clear that enforcement efforts are going to be ramped up for the next week or so.

The message is clear: Have fun, but don’t drink and drive. If you do get behind the wheel after you have been drinking, you face the real possibility of arrest and our state’s tough drunk driving laws.

The Texas Department of Transportation has launched its DWI awareness campaign, aimed at getting people to designate drivers during spring break.

Remember, punishment for DWI can be painful. A first offense can mean you are subject to the following:

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • Three days to 180 days in jail
  • Loss of your driver’s license for up to a year
  • Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain your driver’s license

If you have been arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated, contact a skilled attorney experienced in DWI/DUI defense.